If your child is still showing signs of ADD/ADHD symptoms after thoroughly completing phases 1 thru 6 then I recommend you dig a little deeper. Start with Gluten and work your way down.
Gluten is directly linked to Celiac disease and ADHD in both children and adults. A study published in The Primary Care Companion – Journal of Clinical Psychiatry found a significant improvement in behavior and functioning after the initiation of a gluten-free diet. In fact, researchers suggest that Celiac disease should be included in an ADHD symptom checklist. It’s important to recognize that individuals can be sensitive to gluten but not have Celiac disease even though they suffer many of the same symptoms. For an ADHD diet, be sure to avoid all foods that contain gluten, including bread, pasta, cereal and processed foods. Look for gluten-free and grain-free alternatives.
In order to get accurate results from this testing method, you must elimination 100% of the gluten from your diet. Another way to determine if you are gluten sensitive is to ask your doctor to order the following tests: IgA anti-gliadin antibodies (these are found in about 80% of people with Celiac disease)
Reading the ingredients label on the foods you buy and knowing what to look for are the keys to identifying and avoiding gluten
- Barley (flakes, flour, pearl)
- Breading, bread stuffing
- Brewer’s yeast
- Durum (type of wheat)
- Farro/faro (also known as spelt or dinkel)
- Graham flour
- Hydrolyzed wheat protein
- Kamut (type of wheat)
- Malt, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring
- Malt vinegar
- Malted milk
- Matzo, matzo meal
- Modified wheat starch
- Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour, whole oats (unless they are from pure, uncontaminated oats)
- Rye bread and flour
- Seitan (a meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in many vegetarian dishes)
- Spelt (type of wheat also known as farro, faro, or dinkel)
- Wheat bran
- Wheat flour
- Wheat germ
- Wheat starch
These other ingredients may be less familiar to you, but they also contain gluten:
- Atta (chapati flour)
- Einkorn (type of wheat)
- Emmer (type of wheat)
- Fu (a dried gluten product made from wheat and used in some Asian dishes)
- Eliminate all Gluten products from you diet for 2 weeks and monitor for change.
2. Conventional Dairy
A 10-week study found that when conventional cow’s milk was removed from the diet of hyperactive preschool boys, symptoms of ADD/ADHD improved. If any ADHD symptoms arise after consuming dairy, it’s wise to remove it from the diet. Most conventional cow’s milk contains A1 casein that can trigger a similar reaction as gluten and, therefore, should be eliminated from the diets of both adults and children.
What you should avoid
Milk (all ingredient that has the word milk)
Butters (all types)
Casein & caseinates (all types)
Cheese (all types)
Cream (all types)
Curds (all types)
Custard (all types)
Dairy product (all types)
Galactose (all types)
Ghee (all types)
Half & Half (all types)
Hydrolysates (all types)
Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
Milk fat, anhydrous milk fat
Pudding (that contains dairy)
Rennet, rennet casein
Simplesse® (fat replacer)
Sour cream (all types)
Whey (all types)
Yogurt (all Types)
- Eliminate all Gluten products from your diet for 2 weeks and monitor for change.
One of the most common food allergens in the world, soy can cause many symptoms in allergic individuals, including hives, tingling in the mouth, wheezing, difficulty breathing and abdominal pain. For some, soy allergy can even result in anaphylaxis. In individuals without a known sensitivity, soy disrupts thyroid function and hormone levels in the body. This can cause ADHD or make the symptoms worse.
Avoid foods that contain soy or any of these ingredients:
- Cold-pressed, expelled or extruded soy oil*
- Soy (soy albumin, soy cheese, soy fiber, soy flour, soy grits, soy ice cream, soy milk, soy nuts, soy sprouts, soy yogurt)
- Soybean (curd, granules)
- Soy protein (concentrate, hydrolyzed, isolate)
- Soy sauce
- Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
*Highly refined soy oil is not required to be labeled as an allergen. Studies show that most people with soy allergy can safely eat highly refined soy oil as well as soy lecithin. If you are allergic to soy, ask your doctor whether you need to avoid soy oil or soy lecithin.
But avoid cold-pressed, expelled or extruded soy oil—sometimes called gourmet oils. These ingredients are different and are not safe to eat if you have a soy allergy.
Soy is sometimes found in the following:
- Asian cuisine (including Chinese, Indian, Indonesian, Thai and Vietnamese)—even if you order a soy-free item, there is high risk of cross-contamination
- Vegetable Gum
- Vegetable starch
- Vegetable Broth
Some Unexpected Sources of Soybeans and Soy Products
- Baked goods
- Canned broths and soups
- Canned tuna and meat
- High-protein energy bars and snacks
- Infant formulas
- Low-fat peanut butter
- Pet food
- Processed Meats
- Soaps and moisturizers
Allergens are not always present in these foods and products, but soy can appear in surprising places. Again, read food labels and ask questions if you’re ever unsure about an item’s ingredients.
Will My Child Outgrow a Soy Allergy?
About 0.4 percent of children are allergic to soy. Studies show an allergy to soy usually occurs early in childhood and often is outgrown by age three. The majority of children with soy allergy will outgrow the allergy by age 10.1
- Eliminate all Soy products from your diet for 2 weeks and monitor for change.